As an administrator for your organization's Google Workspace account, you can delete a user account, suspend a user account, restore a suspended or recently deleted user account, and transfer data ownership from one user account to another.
When you delete a user, they lose access to all services and data associated with their account. When you suspend a user, they are temporarily blocked from using your organization’s Google Workspace services. After suspending a user, you can restore their account at any time.
If you’d like to understand more about deleting, suspending, or restoring user accounts before attempting the exercises that follow, head to the managing user accounts of the Google Workspace Admin help center where you can go into these actions in more detail.
After a long day of helping Workspace users, just as you’re about to log out for the day, you receive a request from Izumi, the HR manager at your company.
Suspend Kalani’s account
Step 1
If you are not already signed in, sign in to your domain as the Administrator at admin.google.com.
Step 2
From the main menu, select Directory, then click Users.
Step 3
Locate Kalani B in the user list and hover over her name, then click More options, and then click Suspend user.
Step 4
Click SUSPEND. The Status column for Kalani will change from Active to Suspended after refreshing the page.
A few weeks later, you receive another email from Izumi:
Restore Kalani’s account
Step 1
In the user list, filter for suspended users by clicking Add a filter. Then click User status and Suspended. Locate Kalani B in the list, and hover over her name. Then click More options and Reactivate.
Step 2
Click REACTIVATE to confirm. Kalani will be removed from the suspended user list.
Step 3
Clear the filter and confirm that Kalani’s status has been changed back to Active by refreshing the User list page. Kalani can now sign in and has full access to her account and data.
A user can also be automatically suspended from Gmail for exceeding sending limits. In this case, the user can still sign in to their Google Workspace account to access other services, such as Calendar and Drive. But when they try to access Gmail, an error suggests Google detected unusual activity on the account. Most users will regain access automatically within 24 hours, but in some cases, an administrator can reset the limits for the user and allow them to immediately regain access.
You can’t restore an account that was suspended for abuse or for breaching Google’s Terms of Service.
You can’t restore a user with an abusive account status. Administrators can contact Google Support for more information.
A few weeks later, you receive yet another email from Izumi.
Delete Mark’s account and transfer account data to Izumi
Step 1
From the main menu, select Directory, and click Users.
Step 2
Locate Mark J in the list, and hover over his name. Then click More options and Delete user.
You now have the option to transfer certain types of data from Mark's account to a new owner.
Step 3
In the Data in other apps part of the Transfer user’s data section, search for Izumi E to complete the Select the user ... field.
Step 4
Ensure Drive and Docs is selected and check Include files that are not shared with anyone.
Step 5
Click DELETE USER.
Mark's account will now be temporarily suspended during the transfer. The account will then be deleted.
Step 6
Click DONE.
Step 7
Check your inbox. You should receive a notification confirming that the deletion was successful.
You can explore more about managing user accounts in the Google Workspace Admin Help Center.