As an Administrator, you can control how much calendar information your team shares outside your organization. You can also set the default sharing level for internal users. Once external sharing limitations are implemented, users can’t go beyond these restrictions when sharing individual events. For instance, if your organization's external sharing is limited to Free/Busy, external users will only see events as "busy," even if a calendar is shared with them.
While you can share your organization's calendars with the public, sharing with a specific external domain isn’t possible. Users can choose how they share their calendars with other users within the same organization.
In this exercise, you’ll configure a shared calendar for a group with external sharing options.
An email from your company's CEO has just arrived in your inbox.
Part 1: Restrict external sharing
Step 1
If you are not already signed in, sign in to your domain as the Administrator at admin.google.com.
Step 2
From the main menu, navigate to Apps, then select Google Workspace, and then click Calendar.
Step 3
Click the Sharing settings section.
Step 4
Select the top organizational unit (OU) to apply the settings to the entire organization.
Step 5
Under External sharing options for primary calendars select Only free/busy (hide event details).
Step 6
Click SAVE.
-- --
Part 2: Create a group calendar
Step 1
Open Google Calendar at calendar.google.com.
Step 2
Scroll down to the Other calendars section, and click the + sign.
Step 3
Click Create new calendar.
Step 4
Enter Project Zenith as the calendar name.
Step 5
Click Create calendar.
-- --
Part 3: Share calendar
Step 1
Once the calendar has been created, a notification banner will be displayed at the bottom of the screen with a link to configure the calendar. Click on that link, or click on the three dots next to the calendar under the My calendars section of the Calendar landing page and click on the Settings and sharing section.
Step 2
Under Share with specific people or groups, click Add people and groups. In the Add email or name text field, enter Employees and click on the group that appears. (Note: You would have created this group in Part 2 of the “Mail management with Google Groups” exercise in the Google Workspace User and Resource Management pre-requisite course.)
Step 3
From the Permissions menu, select See all event details.
Step 4
Click Send.
Super Administrators and Admins with the Meet hardware management permission can see all event details in everyone's calendars, regardless of how calendars are shared.
External mobile users who previously synced events might still have access to restricted details. This access can be revoked by wiping and resyncing their device.
For more guidance on Calendar sharing settings, please explore the Google Workspace Admin Help Center: