As an Administrator, you can transfer files owned by one user to another user in your organization. There are three user types in Google Drive who can access files: Owner, Editor, and Viewer. Files can have many Editors and Viewers, but only one Owner at a time.
By default, the creator of a document is also the Owner, but document ownership can be transferred to another user. After the transfer, the original owner retains editing privileges for the documents unless that user is deleted or their edit permissions are removed.
It’s recommended to transfer ownership of a user's files when they leave the organization.
In this exercise, you’ll practice transferring ownership of a set of documents from one user to another.
You hear that familiar ding—it's an email from Sam M!
Document ownership transfer
Step 1
If you are not already signed in, sign in to your domain as the Administrator at admin.google.com.
Step 2
From the main menu, navigate to Apps, then select Google Workspace, and then click Drive and Docs.
Step 3
Click on the Transfer ownership section.
Step 4
Enter samantha.m into the From user field and raha.g into the To user field.
Step 5
Click TRANSFER FILES, then click OK. You will receive a notification once the transfer is complete.
Step 6
Open your inbox, and verify that you have received a confirmation email.
Please note: It's also possible to transfer ownership of documents using the Drive API.
For more guidance on transferring file ownership, please explore the Google Workspace Admin Help Center: