Google Drive is a powerful tool for storing, sharing, and collaborating on files. Shared drives allow teams to store and access files collectively, ensuring everyone has the most up-to-date information. As an Administrator, you can manage shared drives, configure default sharing settings, and set storage quotas to optimize how your organization utilizes Drive.
While most default sharing settings for Drive can be managed from the Drive and Docs settings page, you can also use trust rules to manage sharing both outside and inside your organization. Trust rules give you more control over who your users can share with. With trust rules, you can create granular policies to control who can get access to Google Drive files.
Google shared drive trust rules are available in the Frontline Plus, Enterprise Standard and Enterprise Plus, Education Standard and Education Plus, and Enterprise Essentials Plus Google Workspace editions.
Your policies can apply to individual users, groups, organizational units, and domains to specify:
Which users' files can be shared with internal or external users.
Which users can receive files from internal or external users.
Which internal or external users can be invited and add items to shared drives.
In this exercise, you will practice creating shared drives and managing their settings, including more granular options with Drive trust rules.
Oh look, an email from Timothy L. It's been a while since you've chatted. Let's see what they need.
Part 1: Create a shared drive
Step 1
Navigate to drive.google.com.
Step 2
From the main menu, click Shared drives.
Step 3
Click + New.
Step 4
Enter Project Zenith as the name for the shared drive.
Step 5
Click Create. You will be automatically redirected to the new drive.
Step 6
Click Manage members.
Step 7
Search for each user’s name in the Add people and groups text box, and add them individually. In the menu next to the text box, choose the correct access level for each user.
Step 8
Click Done.
-- --
Part 2: Prevent viewers and commenters from downloading, printing, and copying files
Step 1
If you’re not already signed in, sign in to your domain as the Administrator at admin.google.com.
Step 2
From the main menu, navigate to Apps, then select Google Workspace, and click Drive and Docs.
Step 3
Click Manage shared drives.
Step 4
Find "Project Zenith" in the list. In the Settings column for that row, click the Settings link.
Step 5
Check the box next to Prevent viewers and commenters from downloading, printing, and copying files.
Step 6
Click Apply.
A few weeks after creating the Project Zenith drive, you receive the following request from Alex.
Set a storage quota
Step 1
From the main menu, navigate to Storage.
Step 2
In the Storage settings section, click Manage.
Step 3
Click Shared drive storage limit.
Step 4
Select On, and enter the 200GB in the Storage limit field.
Step 5
Click SAVE.
Now you've got a new email waiting for you from Lars E.
Part 1: Turn on trust rules
Step 1
From the main menu, navigate to Menu and then Rules.
Step 2
In the Collaborate securely card at the top of the page, if the option is present, click Turn on for Drive. You might need to refresh the page for changes to take effect. If the option is not present, then trust rules have already been turned on.
-- --
Part 2: Create trust rules
Step 1
From the Rules page, click Create rule. From the menu, select Trust.
Step 2
Enter Internal sharing only as the rule name.
Step 3
From the Scope box, select Specify organizational units or groups.
Step 4
Click Include groups.
Step 5
Add the Sales employees group in the text box, and click DONE.
Step 6
Click CONTINUE.
Step 7
In the Triggers box, check the box next to Sharing files.
Step 8
In the Conditions box, select ADD CONDITION.
Step 9
From the Field menu, select Allowlisted domains.
Step 10
Check the box next to Include visitors.
Step 11
Click ADD CONDITION.
Step 12
From the menu, select Organization.
Step 13
Click CONTINUE.
Step 14
From the menu in the Actions box, ensure Allow is selected.
Step 15
Click CONTINUE.
Step 16
Review the rule details and click FINISH.
Step 17
In the popup box that appears, leave the rule status as Active and click COMPLETE.
After you set a shared drive storage limit, it applies to a shared drive when a user next adds or edits a file in the shared drive.
Shared drive limits don’t prevent users from creating more shared drives. If you’re concerned about certain users consuming too much storage by creating shared drives, restrict who can create shared drives.
For more guidance on creating and managing shared drives, please explore the Google Workspace Admin Help Center: