As an Administrator, you can control whether users can share documents with people outside your organization.
Expand each option to learn more about external sharing options.
In this exercise, you’ll practice configuring general default sharing options for Google Docs.
Please note that while this exercise focuses on configuring general default sharing options for Google Docs, these sharing settings apply to items from Google Sheets, Slides, Sites project files, My Maps, folders, and anything else stored in Google Drive.
Raha has sent you an email with a query about file sharing restrictions.
Part 1: Configure internal sharing defaults
Step 1
If you are not already signed in, sign in to your domain as the Administrator at admin.google.com.
Step 2
From the main menu, navigate to Apps, then select Google Workspace, then Drive and Docs.
Step 3
Click Sharing settings.
Step 4
Select the Sales employees group from the Groups menu.
Step 5
In the General access default section, choose Private to the owner as the default internal sharing setting. Now, only the creator and specifically added users have access.
Step 6
Click SAVE.
-- --
Part 2: Configure external sharing options
Step 1
In Sharing settings, click on the Sharing options section.
Step 2
Select OFF - Files owned by users or shared drives in Sales employees can't be shared outside of Google.
Step 3
Unselect Allow users in Sales employees to receive files from users or shared drives outside of Google.
Step 4
Click SAVE.
Please note: It can take up to 24 hours to see changes. During this time, old and new settings might be intermittently enforced.
For more guidance on file sharing settings, please explore the Google Workspace Admin Help Center: