In some cases, Google automatically assigns a license for a service to every user in your entire organization. In other cases, you can manually assign licenses to your entire organization, an organizational unit, a group of users, or an individual user. You can also turn on the option to automatically assign licenses to users.
You can assign and manage licenses in three places in the Google Admin console:
The Billing page: Useful for assigning licenses to all users in your organization or an uploaded list of users, or to set up automatic licensing.
The Users page: Useful for assigning licenses to multiple users, but not all users in your organization. You can manage licenses for multiple users using a CSV file.
An individual user’s page: Good for managing a single user.
In order to complete this exercise, you must have one free subscription to set automatic licensing for your paid Google Workspace subscription. Please follow these directions to add Cloud Identity Free to your organization.
If you are not already signed in, sign in to your domain as the Administrator at admin.google.com.
From the main menu, navigate to Billing, and then select Get more services (or Buy or upgrade).
From the CATEGORIES section, select Cloud Identity.
From the Cloud Identity Free panel, click GET STARTED. You will be redirected to the Product details page.
From the Product details page, click NEXT. You will be redirected to the Payment plan page.
From the Payment plan page, click CHECKOUT.
From the Checkout page, click PLACE ORDER.
New changes are coming to your company, which means more work for you! Read through the following email to learn more about what your users need.
Turn off automatic licensing
Step 1
From the main menu, navigate to Billing, then select License settings.
Step 2
From the list of subscriptions, select Google Workspace Business Plus.
Step 3
Toggle the Automatic licensing setting from On to Off.
Step 4
Click SAVE.
A few months later, you receive the following message from Alex:
Part 1: Remove Cruz's license
Step 1
From the main menu, navigate to Directory, then select Users.
Step 2
Check the box next to Cruz’s name and select More options, then click Remove licenses.
Step 3
Check the box next to the Google Workspace Business Plus license and click Remove.
-- --
Part 2: Assign a license to Mark
Step 1
From the main menu, navigate to Directory, then select Users.
Step 2
Check the box next to Mark's name from the list of users.
Step 3
Click Assign licenses.
Step 4
Check the box next to the Google Workspace Business Plus license.
Step 5
Click Assign.
• If you have multiple Google services or multiple subscriptions of the same service, you can only turn on automatic licensing for one service or subscription.
• If you choose to automatically assign licenses for a service to all users, you can’t remove an individual user’s license.
• If you have organizational units under your top-level organization, you can set automatic licensing options for specific organizational units.
• It can take up to 24 hours for an automatically assigned license to take effect.
• If turning on automatic licensing for a subscription results in assigning more than the available number of licenses, some users might not get a license.
For more guidance on assigning user licenses, please explore the Google Workspace Admin Help Center: