As a Google Workspace Administrator, you can facilitate faster and more efficient communication within teams using Google Chat. Google Chat enables your users to quickly connect with colleagues one-on-one for instant conversations. Using Chat, you can also create dedicated spaces for teams, projects, or topics to keep discussions organized and focused.
As a Google Workspace Admin, you can fine-tune Chat for your organization by enabling or disabling it entirely. You can control history settings, manage external access, and decide if users can install apps. You can also configure Chat for specific organizational units, allowing you to customize the experience for different teams. This granular control allows you to tailor Chat to fit your company's specific needs and security policies, ensuring smooth and productive communication.
In this exercise, you’ll configure common Google Chat settings for your users.
Alex has sent you another email. This time it's a request to enable Google Chat settings.
Part 1: Enable Chat for your organization
Step 1
If you’re not already signed in, sign in to your domain as the Administrator at admin.google.com.
Step 2
From the main menu, navigate to Apps, select Google Workspace, and click Google Chat.
Step 3
Click the Service status section.
Step 4
Select ON for everyone.
Step 5
Click SAVE.
-- --
Part 2: Turn on Chat history
Step 1
From the Google Chat settings page, click the History for chats section.
Step 2
Ensure History is ON is selected.
Step 3
If you made any changes, click SAVE.
-- --
Part 3: Turn on space history
Step 1
From the Google Chat settings page, click on the History for spaces section.
Step 2
Ensure History is ON by default is selected.
Step 3
If you made any changes, click SAVE.
-- --
Part 4: Allow file sharing
Step 1
From the main menu of the Admin console, navigate to Apps, click Google Workspace, and click Google Chat.
Step 2
Scroll to the Chat File sharing section.
Step 3
Check the box next to the Allow all files under both ‘External file sharing’ and ‘Internal File sharing’ option.
Step 4
Click SAVE.
Changes can take up to 24 hours to be fully in effect for all users.
Users might need to restart their Chat app, refresh their browser, or clear their cache to see the history setting changes right away.
For more guidance on configuring Chat settings, please explore the Google Workspace Admin Help Center: